GWVR name squads

March 10, 2017, 03:58 PM AEST


Locals flooded the playing lists of the Greater Western Victorian Rebels this week with the final squads announced for the Under 18 Male, Under 18 Female and Under 16 Male Development Squads this week.

Under 18 TAC Male Squad
Ten players from Ballarat and one from Trentham were named in the final squad of the Under 18 Male TAC Cup competition for the Rebels.
The team is led by Head Coach and VFL coaching legend Gerard Fitzgerald. The final squad of 44 was drimmed down from 140 that consisted of players across Ballarat, Wimmera, South West, Warrnambool and Hampden.

Ballarat - Mitchell Bishop, Jed Hill,
East Ballarat - Tom Clark, Joe Dodd
Lake Wendouree - Joel O'Connell, Aidenm McDougall and Jacob Lohman
Mt Clear - Aiden Domic
North Ballarat - Flynn Appleby, Jordan Johnston, Ethan McLaren, Issac Pertzel and Elliott Lamb
St Patrick's - Izaac Johnson
Trentham - Callan Wellings

Under 18 TAC Female Squad
The squad kick off its campaign on Saturday, March 18 at Learmonth Football Club from 12.30pm against the Western Jets. This will be an historical day for women's development football as part of the new competition.
Of the 45 players selected in the squad, 16 of them are local players.

Ballarat - Hannah Simpson, Isabel Fraser, Nicola Penny, Sophie van de Huevel and Maddy Selmon  
East Point - Nyakoat Dajiak
Lake Wendouree - Amy Jackson, Laura Booth, Rebecca Sinclair and Sophie Molan
North Ballarat - Jaymie Saunders
Redan - Katie McAloon, Amy McDonald, Kristen Prebble, Portia Hughes and Jasmine Kawa

Under 16 Development Squad
The Rebels Under 16 season kicks off on Saturday, March 25 with a game against the Geelong Falcons at Bell Post Hill.
The squad takes part in an historic day at Alfredton Oval in Ballarat on Saturday April 1 as, the Rebels TAC Cup, Under 16 and TAC Cup Girls sides all play at the same venue on the same day, with a final game to be played at Bendigo's Queen Elizabeth Oval on Friday, April 7 against the Dandenong Stingrays.
Eight locals represent the squad of 29.
East Ballarat - Mitchell Welsh
Lake Wendouree - Mitch Phillips and Ned Nash
North Ballarat - Riley Ranieri and Darcy McEldrew
Mt Clear - Pat Glanford
Redan - Cooper Craig-Peters and Sam Kyatt

Major Sponsors
Ballarat Leagues Club